The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Relocating pedals on a MSA Classic
Steven Golding

New York, USA
Post  Posted 29 Jun 2020 5:39 am    

hey guys I’m a newb to the pedal steel very excited however. I just picked up my first steel, a 70s MSA Classic this thing is built like a tank. Other than some house keeping and a little TLC she is ready to go. I just have a few questions I was hoping some of ya’ll could help me with.

I’ve noticed that most single neck steels have only three pedals this model has five. What is the advantage/ purpose of the extra two? Also the pedals are located in the center of the rack near to volume pedal. On the rack there are empty brackets machined for additional pedals, Also under the guitar body there are holes already drilled out for the pull sting mechanism. it appears I should be able to relocate everything to the left hand side.
Would moving the entre apparatus over be an easy procedure? Would I have to replace anything like rods spring?
Thank you

Jerry Overstreet

Louisville Ky
Post  Posted 29 Jun 2020 6:53 am    

Hard to say without seeing some pics. Your foot pedals should be in position so that your knee levers are easily accessible to operate in conjunction with the pedals....or does your guitar have them?

The extra two pedals are a bonus once you figure out how they fit into the basics. A player may have had them set up to suit their own playing methods.

Moving hardware like this will require different lengths of pull rods at the very least.

Tommy Mc

Middlesex VT
Post  Posted 29 Jun 2020 7:09 am