The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Steel guitar identity/long way around the barn?
Jeff Peterson

Nashville, TN USA
Post  Posted 23 Jun 2020 10:52 am    

I've been stewing over this for a pretty long time. Many players I hear in the last few years sound a lot alike..licks, phrases, attack, tone, etc. Not finding fault, just wondering if that is really what they are working towards.
Just a note, I will probably have to split this up, 'cause I have many opinions and thoughts about this whole realm we're in playing steel guitar.
Because of the glut of information and teaching examples on line, I believe new players(and some not so new) are getting lost in the pursuit of some kind of personal direction in their playing...and it IS personal, or should be.
All the great players, past and present, that we can name within 5 to 10 seconds of hearing have what I am all about in this post...an identity.
When I started playing, fairly late in life(21 years old), I really only had one main goal..play in tune no matter what it was I was trying to play. When I left New England for Texas in '75(with some encouragement from the extremely talented John Macy) I was surprised to get hired in an established band almost immediately. I was told they wanted me because I didn't play like 'other steel players', and could play in tune. Texas guys might remember 'Dogtooth Violet', my first band there. I would learn intros or lead sections for songs ONLY if they asked me to..mostly because I couldn't afford to buy albums to learn from..lol.