The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  How Do I Do a Bluegrass G run
Sherman Willden

Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
Post  Posted 9 Dec 2006 9:23 am    

When I play the run on six-string guitar people tell me I don't do it right. How do you do it on E-9th with and without pedals? How about on a S-12? How is it performed on a six-string guitar?

Thank you;

Sherman

Andy Jones

Mississippi
Post  Posted 10 Dec 2006 6:23 pm    

Sherman,first make a G chord,then pick the 6th string,then pick 5th string,your index finger on the 1st fret,hammering on the 2nd fret.Then pick 4th string open,then finger on 2nd fret,picking and pulling off 2nd fret to open 4th string.Finish by picking 3rd string open.There are several variations of this according to the speed at which you are playing.I this as clear as mud?I'm just a beginner on the PSG,but I know bluegrass.Maybe some one else can give you a better of the G run,but that's how I do it.

Dave Mudgett

Central Pennsylvania and Gallatin, Tennessee
Post  Posted 10 Dec 2006 8:36 pm    

If you're talking about the "Flatt Run" in G, what Andy says is a pretty standard way to do it in the lower register on guitar. A different approach is to follow string 6, fret 3, with a hammer on fret 5 and slide or hammer to fret 6 then fret 7, pick string 5, fret 5, hammer frets 7 and then 5, then pick string 4, fret 5. One can keep going up the neck in similar patterns - it's straightforward to do the same run going up 3 octaves like this.

An octave higher on guitar in the open position starts on the open 3rd string, then hammer the second fret and either hammer or slide to the third and fourth frets, then pick 2nd string, 3rd fret, and hammer the 5th then 3rd frets, then pick the 1st string 3rd fret. Add any flourish you like at the end.

On either E9 or standard E9/B6 U12, a couple of obvious ways to do it are: