The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Old Mac Mini Won't Load CDs or DVDs
Ben Elder

La Crescenta, California, USA
Post  Posted 12 May 2020 3:00 pm    

Stolen out of my car. Please close.

Physically won't. Nor will an outboard Superdrive attached to a USB slot in the back. Disks. Will. Not. Feed. In.

This is a used Mini I bought to use some old software (CD Spin Doctor with Toast 5--something I understand) and this is my first attempt to use it. It won't load music CDs or movie or instructional DVDs.

The HD window has a crossed-out pencil icon (No Write) in the lower left corner. Is this why disks won't load? Should I just convert the computer to a Mac Paperweight model?

Last edited by Ben Elder on 18 May 2021 8:46 pm; edited 1 time in total

Brad Bechtel

San Francisco, CA
Post  Posted 13 May 2020 8:27 am    

Without seeing the computer, it sounds like your operating system is missing some part that allows you to read/write discs. What version of MacOS are you using? Have you tried reinstalling the OS?

Doug Taylor

Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Post  Posted 13 May 2020 1:45 pm    

I seem to recall on an older MacBook I had the guy at the computer store told me the super drive would not work so I bought a generic external drive and it worked fine. You might check to see if your computer is compatible with the Super Drive. If not I would be surprised if a generic drive did not work. Here is a link to what is compatible

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202665

John McClung

Olympia WA, USA
Post  Posted 13 May 2020 2:46 pm    

Ben, yesterday I had a CD that wouldn't be read by my 2011 MacBook Pro, kept getting spit out, even though there was the whirring reading the disc sound I usually hear.

I opened Disk Utility thinking maybe I could force it to mount, but somehow with that app open and threatening the disc, this time it mounted so I could add it to iTunes.