The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Practice Satisfaction?
Dom Franco

Beaverton, OR, 97007
Post  Posted 12 May 2020 7:56 am    

I am rarely if ever satisfied with my practice times.

It is hard work and progress is slow.

(Bear in mind I have been playing steel guitar for almost 60 years, and pedal steel for 50 years.

I took lessons when I was young, and progressed swiftly. Played professionally, Toured with bands, did hundreds of recording sessions.

I made records and several of my songs sold well and got national airplay.)

But, truth be told I am only playing at the same level (or a little less) than I did 40 years ago.

I struggle to learn new licks, and I give up too soon.
I notice this mostly when I record a steel track.

PART OF THIS IS BECAUSE OF THE COVID ISOLATION... I miss playing with other musicians. I feel I was always pushed to play better when I was with a good band.

Now I don't even want to put on my picks and sit behind my instrument today. Crying or Very sad

Fred Treece

California, USA
Post  Posted 12 May 2020 9:15 am    

One thing that never fails to inspire me to practice (with heart) is listening to a great recording. Sometimes it’s not even a favorite artist or a familiar tune or even a steel guitar part. It only takes a few minutes for me to get off my ass and holy crap can I play that? I gotta play that!

Keep the faith, keep playing and learning. This is a time when players are getting in touch with what’s important for growth. I think some great music is going to come out of the end of this thing.

Ian Rae

Redditch, England
Post  Posted 12 May 2020 9:27 am    

I've been playing music for 60 years, but only the last 7 or so on pedal steel. So my years of picking things up quickly are gone.