The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Looking for a new pedal steel
Drew McGrath

Kentucky, USA
Post  Posted 8 Feb 2020 11:06 am    

Hey everyone. I just recently sold my Sho-Bud Maverick as it took me a year to explore and inevitably acknowledge the limitations of that particular model. With that, I'm on the hunt again and I could use a little help. As far as make and model, I'm lost. A local player recommended I look into Williams and their keyless model. What do you all think about keyless steels? I'm still new to the instrument but I want room to grow. I'm content on sticking with E9 and not getting too far ahead of myself by adding in C9. As always, I appreciate everyone's time and feedback!

Cheers!

K Maul

Hadley, NY/Hobe Sound, FL
Post  Posted 8 Feb 2020 12:25 pm    

I have a couple vintage ShoBuds but also a GFI and EXCEL. I've had Williams keyless, too and loved it. You can't go wrong with any of those. The good thing about GFI is that there are knurled knobs for open tuning so you don't need to grab your tuning tool for a quick tweak. They all sound great,are mechanically solid. Bill Rudolph of Williams is especially good with customer service.
My EXCEL and GFI
Picture file

Kevin Maul: Airline, Beard, Clinesmith, Decophonic, Evans, Excel, Fender, Fluger, Gibson, Hilton, Ibanez, Justice, K+K, Live Strings, MOYO, National, Oahu, Peterson, Quilter, Rickenbacher, Sho~Bud, Supro, TC, Ultimate, VHT, Williams, X-otic, Yamaha, ZKing.

Jon Light

Saugerties, NY
Post  Posted 8 Feb 2020 12:26 pm