The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  First lap steel for beginner
John Wedeles

Virginia, USA
Post  Posted 18 Jan 2020 12:43 pm    

Hi all:

I've been playing electric for about 30 years, square-neck dobro for about a year. I'm interested in trying out the lap steel for blues, folk, rock, etc. But I'm a little overwhelmed by all the choices and could use some advice. I'd like to keep it below $500.

I see a lot of vintage options - Supro, Magnatone, Valco, etc. - but don't know what to look for (or avoid). They look sweet though!

I also new production options like Chandler and Morrell.

Would really appreciate your advice! Thanks.

-John

C. E. Jackson

Post  Posted 18 Jan 2020 1:18 pm    

Welcome to the Forum, John. Some of the vintage options are a good buy. You might want
to add vintage Silvertones to your list. Most would probably be within your budget.

The Forum is a great source of friends and information.

C. E. Jackson Smile
A6 tuning for steels

Nic Neufeld

Kansas City, Missouri
Post  Posted 18 Jan 2020 2:40 pm    

Vintage guitars can be a good deal, definitely.

A few things to consider...how many strings and what scale. From the styles of music you listed, I think you can get by with a 6 string. This definitely widens the net of available guitars out there. If you wanted to play Hawaiian, jazz, western swing, you might want to think about 8 strings but blues/folk/rock, a six string is likely all you need (note you can certainly play those other styles on 6 string too, I'm just saying the extra strings are more used/useful in those styles).