The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Pick blocking and fingering approach
Alex Jonsson

Denmark
Post  Posted 25 Oct 2019 10:11 am    

Hi,
Happy to join the forum. I’m new at the steel and am struggling with pick blocking and how to approach it. Could anyone advise me on an appropriate fingering for this exercise - both in terms of right hand picking and what to use for blocking the notes. Would be very much appreciated.

F# - - - - - - - - - - 3 - - - -
D# - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
G# - 3 - - - - -3 - - - - - - (repeat)
E - - - - - - 3 - - - - - - 3 -
B - - - - 3 - - - - - - - - - -

Also, which fingering would you use, if say, you'd play once on each string, from string 10 to 1? So cross-string picking or what you'd call it, would you alternate between T and M all the way? And if so, how would you block it. Guess this relates to my first question.

Gordon Hartin

Durham, NC
Post  Posted 25 Oct 2019 10:51 am    

I would prob do

2 T 1 2 2 T

I mainly pick block and would have my T12 sitting on the strings for the first 4 notes.

after hitting the 4th note on the G# string I would lift my hand move to the position with my Thumb on E, First Finger on the either G# to stop the ringing of the 4th note you played and 2nd finger pluck the F# string, and then have my thumb play the last note.

Gordon

basic blocking video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGzrg1kFbC4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psBnbykVJz4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V1egZkC-X3E
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qXyc-0tnYzY

Last edited by Gordon Hartin on 25 Oct 2019 11:12 am; edited 1 time in total

Ian Rae

Redditch, England
Post  Posted 25 Oct 2019 11:04 am    

Gordon, don't you mean
2T122T ?

Gordon Hartin

Durham, NC
Post  Posted 25 Oct 2019 11:11 am    

hehehe i did...will correct

John Spaulding

Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 25 Oct 2019 11:17 am    

Paul Franklin You Tube:

Do's and Don'ts of Pick Blocking

Paul's Picking and Blocking Technique Examples

Blog: