The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  recommendation for first acoustic steel
Will Slack

Texas, USA
Post  Posted 12 Jul 2019 8:27 pm    

I've been playing 8 string electric for a couple years now, and I love it. My only gripe is that even with my small, portable single necks, I can't just play on a porch or have a simple roadtrip setup. I know I could get a portable amp, but that's an added hassle, and sometimes it's just not right for the mood--no one wants your amp around the campfire.

So, I'm thinking I might pick up a 6 string squareneck resonator of some sort, but I don't know where to start. I play hawaiian and western swing, so I'd love an old tricone, but if the whole point is porch-worthy beater, I don't want an antique. I also worry about the weight of a metal body, but I've never actually picked one up.

Dobro style resonators seem much more common. It's not quite the instrument for what I play, but could it still fit the bill? I'm aware of current brands like Republic and Regal, and I'll try to get out and play a few. Where should I start? Are the more affordable tricones decent sounding?

On another note, I've seen 1930's National Tricones going in the $3k range, but I've also seen a number of 90's and post 2000 nationals going for that much. This confuses me--I would assume the vintage models would sell for more. Either way, I won't be spending that much.

Nic Neufeld

Kansas City, Missouri
Post  Posted 13 Jul 2019 2:23 am    

I'll caveat this with, my experience with resonators is limited and your mileage may vary, but the Republic squareneck tricone gets my vote. You could also consider, for a bit more money, the 8 string Gold Tone PBS-8, but my thinking on that is, the scenario you describe is one where the low 7th and 8th strings are less useful...they won't project very well acoustically, sitting around a campfire, and odds are most of your playing will be on the higher strings.