The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Homemade tube amp for PSG
Allan Haley

British Columbia, Canada
Post  Posted 18 May 2019 11:12 am    

Hello Steelers. I’m finally going to take the plunge into building a tube amp. I have a friend who is an electronics guru, and he’s going to help me every step of the way. I was thinking about a Fender Deluxe schematic. What would other options be for a nice tube amp for PSG? I’d want to stay with one 12 or 15” speaker.
Thanks.
Al

Bill A. Moore

Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Post  Posted 18 May 2019 11:52 am    

I love the "Twin" I built with an SRO-15!

Jack Stoner

Kansas City, MO
Post  Posted 18 May 2019 12:02 pm    

Back in the tube days, the Twin Reverb was THE Pedal Steel amp. I worked on a lot of them in the early 70's when I worked as an amp tech (in Nashville).

That was my amp choice too, with a K-130 JBL. Now an Eminence EPS-15C is a good (lighter weight) choice. The EPS-15C, to me, sounds like the K-130 I had.

Allan Haley

British Columbia, Canada
Post  Posted 18 May 2019 12:11 pm    

Thanks, Jack. I appreciate your help.
A Twin with one 12 would be perfect. Not too heavy. Is there a Fender amp that is like a Twin but with one speaker?

Steven Paris

Los Angeles
Post  Posted 18 May 2019 12:17 pm    

I think you're gonna find the Deluxe a bit underpowered for use in a band situation. Two 6V6s (Deluxe) will only deliver about 20 watts; 2 x 6L6s (Pro,Super) about 40 watts; 4 x 6L6s (Twin,Vibrosonic) about 80 watts. Hoffman($$), Mojotone($$$), and Weber($) all offer kits for all of these.

Allan Haley

British Columbia, Canada
Post  Posted 18 May 2019 12:45 pm    

Thanks, Steven. That’s exactly what my amp-tech friend just told me. He suggested something with 6L6s.

Ken Pippus

Langford, BC, Canada
Post  Posted 18 May 2019 1:07 pm    

The Vibrasonic and Vibrosonic we’re both great steel amps (with an O is basically a Twin with a single 15.)

Allan Haley