The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Guitar cords
Ron Sodos

San Antonio, Texas USA
Post  Posted 12 May 2019 8:25 am    

I've been using the same cords for 20+ years. The cord to the volume pedal then to the preamp the to the amp. Just for a fluke I decided to buy 4 short cords (3 feet). They functioned for all of my connections except to my speaker that sits behind me. I use components (preamp, power amp, volume pedal and Black Widow speaker)
I tried them for the first time Friday night.
I thought something was wrong as my volume was so much louder I had to turn my preamp down 3 notches. After a while it made me realize the signal was that much stronger. I don't know if it was due to the quality of the new cords or the short length. I had previously used a 3 foot to the volume pedal but the others were all 10 foot.Crazy. I never new cords made that much as a difference.

Godfrey Arthur

3rd Rock
Post  Posted 12 May 2019 9:47 am    

Quote:
I never new cords made that much as a difference.

Sure they do. Length does for sure. Try running a 100 foot extension cable to power your amp from the outlet and see how much power it will rob.

Same thing happens to audio cables. Which is why buffers are used in the case of long cables.

Cables, the way they are made, even the plugs and jacks, the construction of them makes a difference in the sound you hear.

It's not as much as about being the "best" cable but about producing the right sound you might want for any song.

Some cables will be too bright, some just right, so you experiment with them and mix and match.

But shorter cables will definitely produce a stronger signal than a longer one from the signal loss in the resistance in the wire.

If anything your ears just got better Ron!

Steven Paris

Los Angeles
Post  Posted 12 May 2019 6:54 pm    

Godfrey Arthur wrote: