The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Who Knows? 3 prong v 2 prong outlets?
Andy DePaule

Saigon, Viet Nam & Springfield, Oregon
Post  Posted 1 Apr 2019 5:10 pm    

I just brought my Webb amp with new Eminence Neo speaker to Saigon.
It has the best tone and I'm loving all but one thing! Those electric zingers that shoot from the strings up my finger, ow!

Okay, so I'm no electrician but bet some of you will have an answer?

The amp has a three prong plug but all the outlets here are two prong.
Most of this country is not grounded and electrocution is one of the three main causes of death for children here. Maybe pedal steel players too???

I have one of those adaptors for 3 to 2 prong so it will plug in.
Next I play bare foot, but have on socks and keep my feet on a small rug.

That worked well until yesterday when my sweetheart decided to give me a big wet kiss while I was playing.... OMG, The juice flowed from my strings to my bar, up my left arm and across my shoulder to my neck and lips.... Then whamooo into her lips and all the way down to her bare feet on the tile floor.
Remember that song a few years back, "That Kiss That Kiss"? Well I know it was not my skill at kissing that did it! Embarassed Idea Rolling Eyes Idea Whoa!

So like I said, the entire country goes ungrounded with 220V and 50 cycles AC.
My adaptor has a little copper tab where the third prong would be.
My question; Could I solder a shielded copper electric wire to that tab and then tape the other bare end to the tile floor*? Would that re-direct the jolt?

*Having seen how they build houses here they usually have tiles on cement directly on the ground.

Please only answer if you know your electric stuff well. I'm the only guy in the whole country who plays PSG, so my early passing would be a tragedy for me if no one else.
Magnatone Jeweltone Series Lap Steel, Circa 1950? 6 String with F#minor7th Tuning.