The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Can a Right-Handed PS Guitarist Have Right-Footed Pedals?
Jerry H. Brown

Arizona, USA
Post  Posted 18 Jan 2019 9:47 pm    

Hello everybody, I'm a newbie to PSG and just joined the forum last week.
I am ready! Let's do this!
After 4 decades of performing music (Trumpet in Orchestras and Jazz bands, Electric Bass and Guitar in Rock bands), I'm tired of dreaming of playing PSG and am now ready to get real with it. Even though I do not currently have one, my passion for playing the PSG has been growing in me for the past 6+ months. I anticipate my 1st purchase real soon.

I have scoured this site and others for any/all information I can get, watched 40+ hours of instructional videos, read many PSG related web sites, and even spent time developing my own advanced Excel spreadsheets showing different aspects of the PSG fret board layout with foot pedals and knee levers. It may seem silly, but I even pantomime playing the PSG (with pretend pedals and knee levers) as I learn/watch others do it -- to make sure I have the physical coordination required to be good at the PSG, before I purchase my first. But unlike other newbies who are looking for a dual neck, I am just concentrating on a single neck S-10 or SD-10 (or S-12, SD-12).

The typical "right-handed" PSG player uses Right Hand for Picking, Left Hand for the Bar, Right Foot for the Volume pedal (and Right Knee Levers), and Left foot for the floor pedals (and Left Knee Levers).

Although I am a "right-handed guitarist", I know my right foot is more 'coordinated' than my left foot.
What I've come to learn about myself and the PSG (through my practise of pantomimic exercises) is that I think I would feel more dexterous to have the Floor pedals under my right foot and the Volume pedal under my left foot. My right foot works better than my left foot for floor pedal dexterity.