The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  What to play
Kay Whitesides

Texas, USA
Post  Posted 8 Dec 2018 7:05 am    

I am a step above rank beginner, I know chord positions etc. but last night I was jamming with a band that was doing Christmas songs, It came upon a midnight clear , Mary did you know, etc and I felt lost. The country fills I knew didn't fit. Rhythms seemed off etc. I can sing these songs and strum rhythm guitar, I don't know. It was very depressing. Bout the time I think I am progressing things like this happen. Any advice?

Larry Hobson

Valley Grande (Selma) Al USA
Post  Posted 8 Dec 2018 7:15 am     what to play

Don't be too concerned about it. The feeling you are talking about will probably go away Dec. 26 only to return next Dec. I experience them every year about this time. Merry Christmas.

Fish

Post  Posted 8 Dec 2018 7:46 am    

Hi Kay,

Good for you for being open enough to ask. This is the first step to becoming a more versatile player; we've ALL been there, playing in a new musical setting where we feel uncomfortable and don't know what to play. But by putting yourself in challenging musical settings, you'll ultimately become a more versatile musician.

What to do when the usual stuff doesn't fit? Here are a few ideas:

1) Listeners love the sound of our instrument, the way a chord swells with the volume pedal and notes become more soulful with vibrato. Since you know the chords to these songs, concentrate on playing simple chordal swells - using wide inversions (4-6-10 or 3-5-8 on E9th) and your volume pedal for more sustain.

2) Now, take that chord inversion and slide up or down the fretboard, weaving in between the lyrics. Again, keep it simple.

3) Save your lick ideas for the end of sections and use them as transitions into a new verse, chorus or bridge.

4) Remember chimes! A well-placed chime sustained for a measure or two really adds sparkle to a song.