The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  My (??) 8 string tuning experiment.
Noam Cohen

California, USA
Post  Posted 4 Dec 2018 9:27 pm    

Its a 6th / 7th combo in Gmaj/Em for now (if my nomenclature is correct). I'm likely to move it to an Emaj center when I re-string.

From low to high:
high F, (low)G,B,D,E,G,B,D

The high 7th on the 'bottom' is borrowed from Freddie Roulette's tuning. What y'all think? Is there a smarter way to get what I want? Primary aims are full chord major, minor and 7th's. I don't play Hawaiian - though at some point I'll probably explore swing. For now the E ‘6th' is mostly for the purposes of the minor chord it enables.

Couldn't find this tuning on Brad's tunings page - which is why I call it 'mine' for now. Im sure others must have tried it - feel free to 'set me straight'- and suggest other ways of achieving the same ends. I am a relative newbie (see my intro post) and till now have mostly played GBDGBD six string laps (and a resonator). I’ve had this set up for two days now and it’s starting to feel pretty natural.

Noam
http://noamsmusic.tumblr.com

b0b

Cloverdale, CA, USA
Post  Posted 4 Dec 2018 11:31 pm    

Gary Morse uses G B D E G B D (G6th) on his 7-string reso. Great for western swing!

Your high F on the bottom is unique.

John McClung

Olympia WA, USA
Post  Posted 5 Dec 2018 10:43 am    

Noam, I have a 10-string Melobar tunes kind of like that in E: chromatic string on top, a low b7 on the bottom, I think a 6th in the middle, it's packed away in its case, it was a very useful tuning for blues and rock styles.

Stephen Abruzzo

Philly, PA
Post  Posted 5 Dec 2018 6:35 pm    

Looks good.......should be fun.

I like the F on the bottom too as it gives you a Dom7.

Depending on how you like things and the type of music you play.....you can switch the E and F and have the Dom7 F right in the middle and the E on the bottom.

Andy Volk

Boston, MA
Post  Posted 6 Dec 2018 2:22 am