The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Best thumb pick for pick blocking
Jay Coover

Seattle, WA, USA
Post  Posted 26 Nov 2018 3:50 pm    

Beginner here. I'm trying to learn both pick and palm blocking to see what my future holds. Making decent progress with palm blocking from the Right Hand Alpha course.

The problem I am facing is that any thumbpicks that I have get stuck in the strings when I let it fall down to pick block the lower strings as I see PF do.

Any suggestions?

So far, I've tried Golden Gate, Dunlop, and National medium thumb picks. They all seem to have the same problem (for me).

Fred Treece

California, USA
Post  Posted 26 Nov 2018 4:22 pm    

Trying different picks is a matter of how they fit and what kind of attack you prefer. If one type of pick works better for one type of blocking or the other, that would be news to me. Some players shave the blade shorter and shape it according to their preferences.

If your thumb pick is getting hung up between strings or the string is getting caught between the blade of the pick and the flesh of your thumb, that is a matter of practicing correctly. I will defer to the pros for an explanation on how to practice to correct your difficulty.

Jay Coover

Seattle, WA, USA
Post  Posted 26 Nov 2018 4:48 pm    

I think it may happen when my thumb goes flat against the string moreso than when I'm hitting it at an angle. Need to figure the right approach...maybe back to more Youtube for ideas.

BTW - the golden gate is the least troublesome, also my favorite

It's when the thumb pick band catches on the lower string behind it, then you're hosed. I believe Jeff Newman says not to use Dunlops. Those are the worst for me personally.

Fred Treece

California, USA
Post  Posted 26 Nov 2018 6:59 pm