The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Pedal Steel Insrumentals
Alan Cook

Kent,England
Post  Posted 29 Jan 2006 2:52 pm    

I have been playing steel for almost 8 years now but mainly playing back up for singers songwriters or in bands. Last year I decided to learn to play some instrumentals I bought some of the Woodshed Workshops instrumentals from Jefffan and started to learn to play them. Problem is it taking me a long time (2 months) to get through one and even longer to get them to a stage where they are anything like the CD so far I can play 4 to varying standards, for example I have been playing Sleepwalk for 12 months and its the only one that I would risk performing in public. Do other player with similar experience find it this hard? Has anyone got any tips?
Alan www.alancook.net

David Wren

Placerville, California, USA
Post  Posted 29 Jan 2006 3:14 pm    

Keep in mind the "instrumentals" by steelers, especially the sesssion guys, are their attempt to shine on their own... so they've done some really nice stuff!!! Don't get locked into doing tab stuff.... think of material you are familar with and try doing your own "thang"! Be your own man is my advice.... but have respect for the giants that have tread this path for you.

------------------
Dave Wren
'95Carter S12-E9/B6,7X7; Twin Session 500s; Hilton Pedal; Black Box www.ameechapman.com

[This message was edited by David Wren on 29 January 2006 at 03:15 PM.]

Jack Stoner

Kansas City, MO
Post  Posted 29 Jan 2006 4:31 pm    

Most of us are "backup" pickers, not instrumentalists. At our Steel Guitar Club, many are much more comfortable backing a singer than doing an instrumental.

Pick "vocal" songs that you know and play them as instrumentals - that's a good way to start.