The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Guitarist interested in pedal steel
Rondo Johnson

Tennessee, USA
Post  Posted 1 Oct 2018 9:09 am    

Hello all. I will try to be brief.

I'm a long-time guitarist/instrumentalist interested in leaping into the world of pedal steel. I've had interest for many years and can't wait to finally do it. I am a teacher and consider myself an advanced player (theory knowledge, knowledge of styles, reading and improvising skills, etc.).

I definitely want to learn both E9 and C6 tunings in time, although I will stick with E9 for awhile. Because of this, I'm leaning towards a doubleneck.

My main intimidation is not learning how to play, but my lack of knowledge in dealing with the extra levers, maintenance issues, or difficulty in fixing a potential problem with a more complicated instrument. How common is jumping right in like this, and how over my head might I be if I go this route?

Thanks in advance for asking my question that I'm certain has been repeated many times.

Brian Hollands

Geneva, FL USA
Post  Posted 1 Oct 2018 9:21 am    

I rebuilt mine before I'd ever played a note on pedal steel. Even if you're not mechanically inclined, your're in Tennessee so you can't be too far from someone who's competent to work on one.

Best bet is to buy one from a reputable dealer or player you know/trust to have it set up correctly so you only have to worry about what's wrong with the player Wink

Bruce Bjork

Southern Coast of Maine
Post  Posted 1 Oct 2018 10:12 am    

Check out Justice Pedal Steel Guitars, can't go wrong with Fred.

www.justicesteelguitars.com

Bruce

Bill McCloskey

Nanuet, NY
Post  Posted 1 Oct 2018 10:31 am    

Most people replying in this section of the forum are going to give you encouragement.