The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Examples of tone from various PSGs?
Allan Haley

British Columbia, Canada
Post  Posted 26 Sep 2018 4:10 pm    

Hi. On the forum, I read experienced steelers talking about the unmistakable tone of push/pull or Emmons or Franklin guitars. Would anybody be willing to pass on a few titles of songs that demonstrate classic sounds of particular guitars? As a beginner, I can't hear it.

I'm very interested in what different steels sound like, but I need some guidance from players and listeners who have the ears to teach what's what.
I know that's asking a lot, but I would appreciate it- and I suspect there are other beginner forumites who would benefit.
Thanks
Al

Rick Abbott

Indiana, USA
Post  Posted 26 Sep 2018 4:43 pm    

I think this is a great question!

Maybe folks will put up Sho~Bud, ZB, Emmons, Franklin, Zum and others. What would be cool is if there were songs by the same player but on two different brands of guitars.

Like Bobby Black on a Sho~Bud Professional and and Emmons D12, for instance.
Sho~Bud D-10 Professional #7962
Remington T-8, Wakarusa 5e3 clone
1953 Stromberg-Carlson AU-35

Kevin Fix

Michigan, USA
Post  Posted 26 Sep 2018 5:53 pm    

Sho Bud LDG and Lloyd Green and the BIG E on a Emmons. Two distinct tones of what a Sho Bud sounds like and what a Emmons sounds like. Also Ricky Davis and his Bud.

Dave Magram

San Jose, California, USA
Post  Posted 26 Sep 2018 8:50 pm    

Kevin Fix wrote:
Sho Bud LDG and Lloyd Green and the BIG E on a Emmons. Two distinct tones of what a Sho Bud sounds like and what a Emmons sounds like. Also Ricky Davis and his Bud.

Good point, Kevin.

Buddy Emmons played a Sho-Bud during his stint with Ernest Tubb (1957 to 1962) and his first year with Ray Price (1962). Emmons played with Ray Price until 1967. Since he started the Emmons Guitar Co. in 1963, there's a timeline for comparisons--"Before 1963" vs. "After 1963".