The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Measurement tolerance for scale length and fret positions
JB Bobbitt

California, USA
Post  Posted 22 Sep 2018 12:52 pm    

Hi again. I'm an experienced and proficient woodworker (newbie guitar builder), and I'm well aware of realistic tolerance for measurement for wood specifications. But dimensions I've seen (e.g. StewMac fret position calculator) spec out to +/- 0.001 mm (0.000039 in). This resolution is not realistic in woodworking (it even exceeds the expansion/contraction of a steel ruler).

What spec resolutions are really achievable for scale length and fret position markers?

Thanks a heap,
-jbb

Chris Clem

California, USA
Post  Posted 22 Sep 2018 2:38 pm    

Hi John,I've been down this road. You can lay them out by measurements but it is time consuming and it is easy to make a mistake.I find it much easier to just use a fingerboard that is already laid out to the scale you want use and line it up with the one your making and mark it that way.Or better yet,if it is a common scale length that you don't have just buy a fingerboard from Stewmac and use it as a guide for cutting yours.

Cutting the slots is mostly very easy,but as you go up the fretboard and the frets get closer together it can show if you get one off just a tiny bit.That is why it is always better to use an accurate board to use as a guide for your saw. Hope that helps....Chris

Fred Treece

California, USA
Post  Posted 22 Sep 2018 3:55 pm    

You’re building a lap steel, not a guitar-guitar, right?

Chris’ advice is good, you could just buy a fretboard and glue it your neck. Also keep in mind that the fret markers are...markers, not frets. The steel player uses the fretboard for reference, and his ear for bar placement. A tolerance of .001mm is beyond ridiculous for lap steel. The markers themselves are what, maybe a couple mm thick?

Steve Lipsey

Portland, Oregon, USA
Post  Posted 23 Sep 2018 11:09 am