The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Beginner - New GFI S10 or '73 Shobud Pro
Eddie Kesler

Georgia, USA
Post  Posted 13 Aug 2018 12:30 pm    

I'm a newbie to pedal steel, but a semi-pro musician on mandolin and guitar. I've recently borrowed a friends late model GFI Ultra II to get acclimated and see if I want to proceed and i love it. He's not interested in selling it unfortunately. He paid $1850 on eBay recently.

So, I'm on the scout for a pedal steel of my own. I really want to try to stay at no more than $2k at the moment. I'm curious the thoughts on whether to go for a brand new GFI S10 student model for $1600 from a reputable dealer like Sam Ash to have some support or I have found a guy who plays professionally 2-3 nights a week about an hour and a half from where I live. He's got a couple '73 Shobuds that he's refurbished and played himself for a little less than that, minus a case. Says they're in good working order.

I love vintage instruments and have a good collection of guitars and mandos that run the gamut of age and not scared to buy older instruments, but I've been told to be careful with pedal steels with all the working parts and it's also tricky to find a tech or luthier that can work on them.

Any advice or thoughts on which way to go would be appreciated.

Thanks

Mark Hershey

New York, USA
Post  Posted 13 Aug 2018 12:38 pm    

I'd go with the GFI Ultra.

Mark Hershey

New York, USA
Post  Posted 13 Aug 2018 12:50 pm    

Also, I'd encourage you to do a few searches about ShoBud's and GFI's. There's so many great previous threads on PSG gear. You'll find all sorts of useful info.

Jonathan Cullifer

Gallatin, TN
Post  Posted 13 Aug 2018 1:41 pm    

GFI Ultra. They come up for sale periodically. A friend of mine recently bought one here in your price range.

Ben Waligoske

Denver, CO
Post  Posted 13 Aug 2018 1:53 pm