The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Geo L cable jacks
Tom Campbell

Houston, Texas, USA
Post  Posted 12 Aug 2018 3:27 pm    

Will the Geo L cable jacks fit any other manufactures cable? Preferably a cable with more shielding!

Thanks for any referrals!

Jack Stoner

Kansas City, MO
Post  Posted 12 Aug 2018 4:12 pm    

What's wrong with George L's cable. I've been using it, without any problems, since it was first introduced in the early/mid 80's. I don't recall seeing any posts about shielding problems with this cable.

I'm a former amp tech, with my tech background I don't see any problems.

Godfrey Arthur

3rd Rock
Post  Posted 12 Aug 2018 7:29 pm    

I suppose other cables will fit the Geo L's plugs. But get out your vernier caliper.

The solderless idea is not new. Fender used to include these types of set screw-to-ground non-solder cables as case candy back in the '60's.

Fender cable circa 1969

George L makes 0.155 (3.93mm) and 0.255 (6.47mm) cable sized plugs. The 0.255 being a thicker jacket so you would need to match the cable diam to the plugs.

That said there are numerous makers with the same type of connector. But they appear to have their own dimension tolerances so ymmv as far as fitment goes.

Disaster Area EVO plugs are set to their cable at 0.150 (3.81mm)

Bill Lawrence (Wilde) sells solderless plugs that are 0.196 (5mm)

Evidence Audio sells solder-less plugs including some boutique priced ready made cables. It appears these are at the 0.155 (20awg) jacket sized cables.

Basic space saving small diameter 0.155 cabling.

I agree with Jack, the Geo L cable is excellent cable just have to know how to handle the cable properly because it is basically coax cable and doesn't like to be kinked.

I went the other route. I used the Geo L cable and made my own, soldering Switchcraft plugs. I don't like the unsureness of non-solder.

This George L cable is 18 years old. Still sounds great!