The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Jerry Byrd's course book 1 finished, video Sweet Lei Lehua
Francisco Castillo

Easter Island, Chile
Post  Posted 11 Aug 2018 5:40 pm    

Hi all.
It's me again.
Jerry Byrd's Book 1 finished. It took me about 6 weeks to study almost all the songs. Then did a pause to let it settle down.
(It's been 1 year now since i started playing lap, and feel very enthusiastic with this new instrument in my life.)

Now i'm in B11th in 2nd Book, and practicing as much as I can. If was younger, unemployed, not married and childless, i'd be playin all day long....

This is Sweet Lei Lehua, in E9th from 1st book.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wOI0s-QK9lY

Thanksfor watching and commenting
Iorana, maururu

Mark Helm

Tennessee, USA
Post  Posted 11 Aug 2018 9:48 pm     Nice job!

Way to go, Francisco! I know those slants are difficult. Kudos to you for being so fearless! What's that guitar?
Remington Steelmaster S8 w/ custom Steeltronics pickup. Vox MV-50 amplifier + an 1940's Oahu cab w/ 8" American Vintage speaker. J. Mascis Fender Squire Jazzmaster, Hofner Club bass, Ibanez AVN4-VMS Artwood Vintage Series Concert Size Acoustic Guitar. 1920s/30s Supertone Hawaiian-themed parlor guitar. Silvertone parlor guitar.

Francisco Castillo

Easter Island, Chile
Post  Posted 12 Aug 2018 9:04 am     thanks

Hi Mark

Thanks for your kind words.
This is my studying guitar. A nice Melbert lap.

Iorana

Mark Helm

Tennessee, USA
Post  Posted 12 Aug 2018 11:05 am     Melbert

Sounds great! I hear good things about those Melbert laps. What kind of amp are you running it through and what gauge strings are you using?
Remington Steelmaster S8 w/ custom Steeltronics pickup. Vox MV-50 amplifier + an 1940's Oahu cab w/ 8" American Vintage speaker. J. Mascis Fender Squire Jazzmaster, Hofner Club bass, Ibanez AVN4-VMS Artwood Vintage Series Concert Size Acoustic Guitar. 1920s/30s Supertone Hawaiian-themed parlor guitar. Silvertone parlor guitar.