The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Muting unwanted sounds while sliding (PF 'if you're gonna..)
Michell Geerdink

Netherlands
Post  Posted 7 Aug 2018 6:16 am    

I'm trying to learn this great solo, beautifully played by Paul Franklin.

I've noticed that there are a lot of slides. One touch with the pick, then slide up on the neck.
When i try to do that i'm hearing tones from strings i don't want to hear.
How does he block or mute those strings? In some fragments i see him block string 9, that seems to work but not in all cases.
Thanks,
Michell
https://youtu.be/cixiEyfeJSg

Bobby Nelson

North Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 7 Aug 2018 1:47 pm    

First off, thanks for posting that. I love hearing this woman sing (RIP), and Mr Franklin's solo was just killer! As to your question, I'm rather new at this but, I hear the same thing you do. I am assuming that when we actually play with a band, it will be so negligible that it won't matter much. If any of the old hands have another answer to this, I too would love too hear it.

Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 7 Aug 2018 2:06 pm    

Three big factors enter the equation - picking forcefully enough (so the desired notes are louder than the noise), muting the strings behind the bar with your left hand, and muting the unpicked (lower) strings with the heel of your right hand. One other tip is to only have the bar covering strings you're actually playing. If you're playing strings 5&8, the bar should not be touching strings 1-4. Cool

Kevin Fix

Michigan, USA
Post  Posted 7 Aug 2018 4:12 pm    

A true Master!!!!!
Smile Smile Smile Smile

John Spaulding

Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 8 Aug 2018 6:41 am    

For those interested, Paul has TAB of that solo at his blog: If You're Gonna Do Me Wrong"

Fred Treece

California, USA
Post  Posted 8 Aug 2018 12:06 pm    

Donny Hinson wrote: