The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  What do you do when you can no longer hold the bar?
Bill Burch

California, USA
Post  Posted 8 Jul 2018 10:11 am    

Nerve damage in my left hand has left me without the ability to anchor the bar. Not being one to give up easily, I started playing around with ideas on how to manipulate the steel without actually gripping it. Came up with the approach of modifying a wristguard that skaters/skateboarders use.

First I took my Dremel tool and ground out a channel for my 3/4" bar to sit in. Then I got a good final fit using 3/4" EMT conduit wrapped with 80 grit sandpaper. The bar I chose was one of Michael Hillman's powder-coated bars. Using JB Weld, I epoxied it in place.

So, how does it work? Certainly there's loss of control and "touch" by moving the bar with your wrist as opposed to cradling it in your fingers. But I can see the bar position over the frets and by varying front to back pressure play notes cleanly. No Speedy West moves here, however.

I've only played with this new rig for 30 min or so, so the jury's out whether this will be a satisfactory solution. I'd love to have something I could cradle in my palm to more naturally duplicate the normal hand position and get everything closer to the strings. I may try modifying one of these Mother's synthetic clay bars for auto detailing. https://www.pepboys.com/product/details/1764688/00840

Bill

Dennis Montgomery

Western Washington
Post  Posted 8 Jul 2018 12:21 pm    

Very cool! As someone who has adapted to tendinitis and elbow nerve damage I think it's great to see innovations like this. Best of luck to you Winking

Hear my album, "Armistice" featuring Fender 400 on every song:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLfXm8aXRTFz2Pz_GXhvmjne7lPEtsplyW

Hear my Pedal Steel Only playlist featuring Mullen G2 SD12 on covers like Candyman, Wild Horses, Across the Universe & more...