The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Strings for archtop with floating pickup
Mac Bellingrath

Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Post  Posted 17 Jun 2018 9:25 am    

I recently bought a used Eastman archtop with a floating pickup on Ebay. It came with electric guitar strings of a lighter gauge than I have played. I am about to change strings and am wondering whether most people use electric guitar strings or acoustic guitar strings with this type guitar/pickup. I will be playing mostly through a small jazz amp. Thanks for your advice.

Joachim Kettner

Germany
Post  Posted 18 Jun 2018 3:22 am    

I'm no expert in this, but I've always thought these guitars had flatwound strings on them.

Jerry Overstreet

Louisville Ky
Post  Posted 18 Jun 2018 7:06 am    

clickhere for Eastman.

I don't know which model you have, but check w/Eastman's website. Generally, a guitar is set up for specific gauges. It's kind of a personal choice however, but your guitar may need a re-set if you change from the factory setup. This AR 910 CE model w/the Kent Armstrong floater above shows a .012 set.

FWIW, I use .011 set D'Addario Chromes flatwounds on my big jazzbox...but I'm far from an accomplished player...so take that into consideration.

Michael Maddex

Northern New Mexico, USA
Post  Posted 18 Jun 2018 8:42 am    

A couple of things:

What Jerry said--Always check with the Builder when possible, if only for a starting point. As a General Rule, Acoustic Strings don´t play well with Magnetic Pickups. As another General Rule, Flatwounds will have a softer sound than Roundwounds. Without Guitar in hand it´s hard to say but a .012¨ Set seems like a good starting point to me. When in doubt: Strings are cheap, Experiment.

Enjoy the new Guitar! Cool

[Hey Jerry, I like the new Avatar; hope that one´s around for a while.]

Mark Carlisle

Springville CA
Post  Posted 18 Jun 2018 5:00 pm