The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  music education
Darrell Criswell

Maryland, USA
Post  Posted 7 Jun 2018 4:50 pm    

I have always wondered if getting a bachelors degree or masters degree in music, maybe theory and composition dramatically changes a persons perspective of music. How different would this be from studying on your own and taking lessons as most people do. Do you become a better musician, etc.?

Mack Quinney

Texas, USA
Post  Posted 7 Jun 2018 6:33 pm    

Darrell,
I’m interested in this as well. I’ve been playing piano since I was six years old. Took lessions through college. (I am 55 now). I just got into jazz a few years ago and man what a new world that is! I learn something about music almost every day. I often wonder if I would be much further along if I had pursued a degree in music.

I’ll be interested in the responses to this.

Mack

Darrell Criswell

Maryland, USA
Post  Posted 7 Jun 2018 6:53 pm    

Doug Jernigan told me about taking a Berklee College of Music correspondence course. I think the Berklee courses and instructional materials have a reputation as being very hard. Doug told me he learned a lot about orchestral chords and so forth. But what was most interesting to me he said he learned in particular the c6th neck of the steel guitar was a lot more difficult to understand and complicated than he thought, and he already thought it was complicated. He gave me the impression that he may have thought he understood it less after he took the course (pardon me if my paraphrasing of his thoughts is not exactly correct).

I took a few fiddle lessons and my teacher as a classical violinist who had learned young and said she considered studying music in college but she thought it might complicate or confuse her intuitive understqnding and spontaneous joy of music.