The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Clean Highs Dilemma
Jerry Overstreet

Louisville Ky
Post  Posted 31 May 2018 12:47 pm    

I don't know how you guys do it. I've been playing for nearly 40 yrs. and still can't get a satisfactory result. They seem to be brittle, biting and/or thin up there.

I play pretty well, but this is something I've never been able to get down properly and it's maybe the one aspect that made me want to play pedal steel most. I remain disappointed and frustrated.

I'll give you an example. Here is JD Call from one of my most favorite music lp's of all time, PPL's Two Lane Highway, the title cut and the cut of Sister's Keeper. Hear how clean yet full of body this is up high 3rd string on the upper frets. Actually this whole album has many examples of what I'm talking about as do all of my heroes in the pure country realm as well.

I give up. I guess I'm the only one that struggles with this as every time I post about it, no one else seems to be troubled with the malady. Sometimes I feel so inadequate like maybe I should have stuck with the kazoo. Oh Well

sister's keeper ...about 1:20
two lane highway ...just after the piano solo at about 2:00

Paul Sutherland

Placerville, California
Post  Posted 31 May 2018 1:17 pm    

I'm not an authority in this matter, as I've struggled with this issue as well. However, recently I feel like I've made some progress.

First: Make sure the tops of your changer fingers are smooth and don't have any grooves.

Second: Use relatively fresh stings.

Third: Pick with authority. Back off the volume pedal as necessary, but don't whimp out with your right hand. Do the opposite of what your brain tells you to do. Don't get timid when playing high. Really pluck the strings forcefully.

Dave Morrison

Whbg Ohio Usa
Post  Posted 31 May 2018 3:23 pm