Al Evans

Austin, Texas, USA
Post  Posted 31 May 2018 4:38 am     Re: Survey older MSA P.SG

Paul Wade wrote:
How many still play older MSA pedal steels
At gigs at home . How many bought it New and still
Have it. Just curious

P.w

Mine's from 1976, and I just got it five months ago. I just play at home.

--Al Evans

Tommy Mc

Middlesex VT
Post  Posted 31 May 2018 6:18 am    

I play a 1980 MSA Vintage XL S10. Bought it used in the early 80's and gig with it regularly.

Bob Carlucci

Candor, New York, USA
Post  Posted 31 May 2018 6:24 am    

Well, I am no longer an MSA owner, but was always one pretty much since starting in 1976 when I started playing steel..
Then in 1977 I bought my first MSA new... S10 White Mica, 5 and 4 w/ hard case and MSA rack mount volume pedal.. They were closing them out I think, and starting to use maple/lacquer bodies.. All I know is that brand new MSA all loaded up was $750.. A nice sum in 77 I guess, but I managed, and it was still cheaper than most in those days.. Always had an MSA around even when i played other brands...
Last one went this past winter, a 5 and 4 green lacquer S10..
A guy drove up here from staten island NY, .. an older guy I think around 70 looking for his first pedal steel.. He brought a gorgeous, unplayed , 2 year old Martin D28 Herringbone with him to trade... I looked at his guitar, took him to an upstairs room where both my pedal steels were set up, and told him either the MSA or the S10 Marlen 4&4 were his for his Martin.. He could not play, but looked both over, listened to me play them both, watched how they reacted, and instantly chose the MSA...