Small pad
14%
 14%  [ 11 ]
Total Votes : 76

Author Topic:  SD10 - Pad, No Pad or Small Pad
Dan Robinson

Colorado, USA
Post  Posted 21 May 2018 8:22 pm    

I need some help. I hope someone with better bar handling skill (probably includes most of you) can offer guidance.

I'm not good at lifting the bar off the strings. When I slide down to fret zero I get stuck. So I tend to avoid that position. Not good, methinks.

My Carter SD-10 has a nice tooled pad. It looks good, feels good, but my dislike is growing. The pad gets in the way of lifting the bar, and moving it to cover the lower strings. There's not enough space behind string 10 to control the base of the bar.

Maybe my bar handling is to blame. But I keep looking at that pad, wishing it was thinner, or gone altogether.

Last edited by Dan Robinson on 22 May 2018 7:57 pm; edited 3 times in total

Georg Sørtun

Mandal, Agder, Norway
Post  Posted 21 May 2018 10:23 pm    

Some discussion about "pads" here…
https://bb.steelguitarforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=282316&highlight=pad

What feels natural for one player, may not work well for another. And, FWIW, I don't like thick pads either – they get in the way, and I much prefer "no pad" on my SD10s Very Happy

Can you remove the pad without damaging anything? If so it may be worth the try to play without it.

As for controlling the base of the bar on low strings: depending on how steady you hold the bar, you should not have to do anything special with regard to support of the bar-base unless you make a slant (which usually involve higher strings anyway).