The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Fender amp experts - what's the story on this SFVR?
Marc Stone

Louisiana, USA
Post  Posted 24 Apr 2018 8:05 am    

Just ordered this Vibrolux Reverb off reverb.com. 66 trannys, 67 chassis, silver face plate w no drip edge.
What's your best guess on this? Transition piece that Was thrown together at factory from avail parts? BF amp that had face place replaced?
Thx!

https://reverb.com/item/6213111-fender-vibrolux-reverb-1967-used

Jack Hanson

San Luis Valley, USA
Post  Posted 24 Apr 2018 8:57 am    

I'm no expert but it looks correct to me for '68, which were the first of the silverfaces. The "drip edge" was discontinued after a year or so. Congratulations. You purchased one of the finest guitar amps ever built IMO. CBS didn't screw up the smaller amps until much later than '68. The circuit number is the key. Yours is likely an AB964, which was a good-un. Along about 1970 is when the engineers began "improving" them, with the AA270 circuit.

Brian Hollands

Geneva, FL USA
Post  Posted 24 Apr 2018 9:46 am    

The reverb listing is down so no more pictures - post some if you can or when you get it.
It's not unusual to have transformers that were manufactured a year prior to the amps manufacture date. A face plate could be changed but for the cosmetics to match they'd have to change the grille cloth and plate on the back of the chassis too.
There's an ink stamped code on the inside of the chassis near the bias board that'll tell you when the amp was tech'd. A Princeton Reverb I recently went through had "T300668" which means that tech #30 checked the amp during the 6th week of 1968. Obviously, all the EIA codes will be earlier than that date.

Michael Butler

California, USA
Post  Posted 24 Apr 2018 11:23 am    

fender ordered tons of parts so some could be new and some old. check the trannys and the serial number on the back as well as numbers on pots, speakers and caps.

play music!