The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  How did you guys start?
Jason Holt

Tennessee, USA
Post  Posted 11 Apr 2018 7:01 am    

How did you guys start and learn the pedal steel? I am new to the pedal steel and don't really know where to start. I have played the guitar and banjo for several years but am lost on the pedal steel. I have the Winnie Winston book just looking for other options as well. Any ideas?

Ian Rae

Redditch, England
Post  Posted 11 Apr 2018 7:43 am    

Jason, welcome aboard and brace yourself for a deluge of advice.

The Winston book has a kind of biblical status but it gets quite difficult quite soon. It's not a graded course of study and you can skim through it a fair bit - there's a lot of knowledge there.

Jeff Newman's courses are very good organised instruction with only as much theory as he deems necessary.

Good luck!

Jack Hanson

San Luis Valley, USA
Post  Posted 11 Apr 2018 7:59 am    

Here's how I got my start: I needed a set of strings for my Ovation flattop and entered a music store owned by a guy who could sell ice to Eskimos. I walked out with a student model pedal steel. But most importantly, I signed up for private lessons with a local professional player. First thing he told me: Buy the Winnie Winston book (which was new at the time, and is as relevant today as it was when it was written).

My recommendation: Take some lessons from an experienced player who is also an accomplished instructor, and then practice, practice, practice. Worked for me.

Fred Treece

California, USA
Post  Posted 11 Apr 2018 9:10 am    

I’ve been getting started for 35 years. I highly recommend getting a teacher or spending a few bucks on a methodical approach like Paul Franklin’s or the Jeff Newman stuff or Joe Wright’s video series. There are a few teachers here on the forum, too, that do lessons via Skype. John McClung and Bob Hoffnar come to mind.