The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Bar grip
Nathan Burns

Alberta, Canada
Post  Posted 10 Apr 2018 8:02 pm    

Hi guys,

I've been playing for a few years and consider myself fairly intermediate. I've worked lots on right hand technique and have gotten fairly decent at my palm blocking. This weekend I got together with a pedal steel friend of mine who has many more years under his belt then I and when we got to talking about rich vibrato (which I feel I need work on) he mentioned the way I grip my bar was incorrect according to Jeff Newman and others.

My first instrument is dobro so I'm used to a stevens bar and being able to really get a good grip for hammer ons and pull offs. The bullet style bar has been a bit of a challenge just getting a hold of it. I tend to tuck it right under my index finger and sort of prop the back in just touching my palm, index finger laid out so I have pressure on it and gives me at least some grip when I go to pick it up.

Watching some of the greats now (Jerry Bird, Buck Reid, Lloyd Green) it looks like they barely touch the bar with the tips of their fingers! It's hard for me to wrap my head around how they pick it up easily?

Anyhow, I'm attaching three picks. One is with the bar tucked right under my flat index finger and back against my palm (how I've done it mostly to now) (second pic), another is that finger tip method I see the pros doing but I can't understand how you have any control with (first pic), and the last is with my index finger bent at second knuckle (third pic), but again, when I do this I sort of end up tucking it back against my palm.

My question is how important is this to vibrato? Is the finger tip method the way to go even if it means more time going back to break old habits for me? If the finger tip method is not the be all and end all can you show me some pros that have a different style and still get that rich vibrato

Thanks!

Rayco 6 string curly maple reso