The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  starting with the right tuning on 8 string lap steel guitar
Maxime Ledon

Steelopolis, France
Post  Posted 6 Apr 2018 10:33 am    

Hi everyone and thanks for reading me !

This is my first post so it got to be good Smile !

I am here asking you nice folks some important advice to help me ride the path where I want to go.
Thing is I am not sure if I need to take the highway or the small road but I know the destination !

I’ve been playing guitar for 25 years and I started lap steel on a 6 string open E tuning doing blues kind of licks a few weeks ago.
I’d like to add more flavor to chords so I could play jam sessions going over jazz progressions but I really like the bluesy greasy thing too (eg. allman brothers).

I’ve recently got this nice guyaTone 8 string lap steel home and I need to choose a tuning to start from. The music that I come from is jazz, blues and funk. I love wah wah, I love fuzz and tube screamer ! Well I love Roosevelt Collier and Robert Randolph and I discovered recently on this forum the great Mike Neer, that I love too ! I also listened to some sacred steel that I absolutely love. Soulful Pete Drake is nice too even if on pedal.

What best tuning would you suggest knowing my musical interests ? I’ve come to understand that C6 goes a long way but what about those E tunings that should speak to a guitar player/blues ?

Thanks a lot for your help and advice. Smile

Bill McCloskey

Nanuet, NY
Post  Posted 6 Apr 2018 10:34 am    

I'd look into A6. Give you plenty of growl and it is a simple retune with the same strings to get it to C6, B11, and other tunings you might like to explore.

Jean-Sebastien Gauthier

Quebec, Canada
Post  Posted 6 Apr 2018 12:12 pm    

Bill McCloskey wrote:
I'd look into A6. Give you plenty of growl and it is a simple retune with the same strings to get it to C6, B11, and other tunings you might like to explore.