The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Recommendations for Learning E9
Dennis Montgomery

Western Washington
Post  Posted 30 Mar 2018 3:47 pm    

Hi all, after a few years of playing an 8 string Fender 400, I've taken the plunge and just bought a 3 pedal/5 knee/10 string MCI. I've been a musician nearly my whole life and have a good understanding of music theory, but when it comes to E9 pedal steel I don't understand why it does what it does, but I know I want to learn how it works so I can do it too Winking

I'm looking for recommendations on the best learning materials that would be compatible with an Emmons E9 setup. I know there are dozens of youtube vids, but I learn best with hardcopy books/charts/tab. I've checked out some of the LessonsWithTroy.com for E9 materials. They seem to be a good combination of video and printed tab/charts/etc, but wanted to hear from some experienced players before I decided to go that direction.

Thanks!

Hear my album, "Armistice" featuring Fender 400 on every song:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLfXm8aXRTFz2Pz_GXhvmjne7lPEtsplyW

Hear my Pedal Steel Only playlist featuring Mullen G2 SD12 on covers like Candyman, Wild Horses, Across the Universe & more...
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLfXm8aXRTFz2f0JOyiXpZyzNrvnJObliA

Jeff Porter

Stumptown, OR, USA
Post  Posted 30 Mar 2018 4:31 pm    

If you're in western Washington you're in luck.
Talk to this guy.
http://www.steelguitarlessons.com/
Member here on the forum, great teacher, all around good dude.

Kevin Fix

Michigan, USA
Post  Posted 30 Mar 2018 5:05 pm     E9th