The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Horizontal Lever
James Quillian

San Antonio, Texas, USA
Post  Posted 17 Mar 2018 9:32 am    

Six years ago I started playing the pedal steel. In that amount of time, I have never used the horizontal lever. Also, I have never witnessed another steel player use it. I have never seen it indicated in a piece of tab.

Who uses this lever and for what?

Tucker Jackson

Portland, Oregon, USA
Post  Posted 17 Mar 2018 9:48 am    

Can we assume you are lowering your B-strings a half-step on that lever?

If so, when this question has come up before, the most-used consensus from forumites seems to be to do this particular 7th chord lick. Actually, it's a partial 7th chord, since you're not playing all 4 notes in the chord. Why I mention that will become clear in a second.

If you slide 2 frets back from open, and step on the A-pedal and hit strings 4 and 5, that's a couple of notes from a 7th chord. A ridiculously useful position.

So, here's the move; it just fancies up that 7th. You hit that A-pedal position, then while still ringing, release the A-pedal and engage the B-lower lever. You can stop there, or keep going and do the move in reverse: release the lever and step on A-pedal again.

It's still a partial 7th chord. You're just taking out one of the 4 tones from the chord and replacing it with a different one (taking out the 5th of the chord and putting in the 3rd). This bending movement as you toggle between the tones within a chord sounds cool -- but you couldn't do it if you just hit all 4 notes of the 7th chord at once.

If you include the 6th string (or 3rd) in all this, you're playing 3 out of the 5 tones in a 9th chord. A 9th chord can often work well over the band's 7th chord and it adds a little color. The "toggling of tones" move within the chord works the same way, though.

John Poston

Albuquerque, NM, USA
Post  Posted 17 Mar 2018 10:51 am