The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Seeking master recording ownership of Jerry Byrd master
Michelle Johnson

California, USA
Post  Posted 19 Feb 2018 2:24 pm    

Hi everyone!
I'm trying to find the master rights holder of a particular Jerry Byrd recording of "Tiare No Tahiti". The only album I find it on is the "Byrd In Hawaii" album, which is out of print. London Records, Sony (RCA Victor), Universal Records don't own this master. I need to clear the song for inclusion in a film. The songwriters and publishers have no leads either. I feel that the song may either belong to Jerry's estate or to some other small label out there that I've yet to find. I know the album was released on Maple records some time ago. That was a label owned by Tom Shilstra who has since passed. If anybody out there might know of a smaller company with ties to some of Jerry's recordings, I'd love to have any leads.
I'm a professional at music clearance, but this one has me at a dead end. Thanks for your time.

Mitch Drumm

Frostbite Falls, hard by Veronica Lake
Post  Posted 19 Feb 2018 2:48 pm    

I thought he also did it as a duet with Barney Isaacs, which I don't think would be the same recording as on the Maple LP. Not sure which CD or LP contains the Isaacs duet. It runs about 3'40".

Byrd did "Tiare Tahiti" on his RCA LP "Hawaiian Beach Party", but I don't know offhand if that is the same song as "Tiare No Tahiti".

Are you restricted to ONLY that Maple version?

I think the Maple LP was later reissued in cassette form by Scotty's Music of St. Louis, but I have no idea if that release was authorized by Maple.

Jon Light

Saugerties, NY
Post  Posted 19 Feb 2018 3:24 pm     Re: Seeking master recording ownership of Jerry Byrd master

Michelle Johnson wrote:
I'm a professional at music clearance, but this one has me at a dead end. Thanks for your time.