The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Any Oahu gurus about to ID ?
Mark Santi

Florida, USA
Post  Posted 12 Feb 2018 12:45 pm    

It's a Diana style electric lap, but different...bound sides, etc.
Thanks in advance

Noah Miller

Rocky Hill, CT
Post  Posted 12 Feb 2018 4:08 pm    

It's a pre-War (Kay-built) 299K Tonemaster.

Mark Santi

Florida, USA
Post  Posted 12 Feb 2018 4:45 pm    

Thanx for that Noah, I've seen a few like that but not one without the radio escutcheons.

Noah Miller

Rocky Hill, CT
Post  Posted 12 Feb 2018 5:39 pm    

I've seen them both with and without. Oahu used the exact same catalog picture from 1939 through 1941, if not later. It's entirely possible that they stopped using them without updating the pic.

Steve Wilson

Morgan Hill, California, USA
Post  Posted 12 Feb 2018 5:41 pm    

Hi Mark,
I have a Oahu Kay Tonemaster like that, too. It really has a sweet, warm sound. Mine had the radio escutcheons at one time ( I can see the mounting holes), but they have gone missing at some point. If anyone comes across any I would love to buy them.

Chris Templeton

The Green Mountain State
Post  Posted 23 Feb 2018 1:27 pm    

I used to have a "Tonemaster" and thought it had a great sound. It had a switch on the back. I can't remember what it did, but I kept it in one position.

Noah Miller

Rocky Hill, CT
Post  Posted 23 Feb 2018 1:43 pm    

Chris Templeton wrote:
I used to have a "Tonemaster" and thought it had a great sound. It had a switch on the back. I can't remember what it did, but I kept it in one position.

That's the "touch control" referenced in the catalog. Basically, it was just an output pad to help keep those early amps from distorting. I haven't taken a poll, but I suspect everyone just leaves them on the louder setting today.

Chris Templeton

The Green Mountain State
Post  Posted 23 Feb 2018 2:37 pm    

That's it! Thanks Noah. Thanks

Jeremy DeHart

North Carolina, USA