The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Hold B, Squeeze A problem...
Mac Martine

Portland, Or
Post  Posted 24 Aug 2005 1:28 pm    

NO! I mean hold A, squeeze B! Sorry...

Hey y'all-
I'm still new to all this, I've been following some of Jeff Newmans courses, but I'm having one real problem in that my body seems to physically not be able to do it..
That is, holding down the A pedal while angling it over the B pedal before I squeeze in the B pedal. I can pretty much do it with the C and B pedals, but not A and B. I can only do it on A and B if I allow myself to bend the left knee lever at the same time. I've tried moving my seat around, etc, but I really just can't seem to see how it's done. Any hints? Thanks!

[This message was edited by Mac Martine on 24 August 2005 at 02:31 PM.]

[This message was edited by Mac Martine on 24 August 2005 at 02:33 PM.]

[This message was edited by Mac Martine on 24 August 2005 at 02:33 PM.]

Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 24 Aug 2005 1:45 pm    

Normally, that's a problem with the floor pedals being too far to the left in relation to the left-knee levers, when using the "Emmons" setup. You may have to try the "Day" setup, instead, which moves the "home" (A&B) pedals to the right by a few inches.

Larry Bell

Englewood, Florida
Post  Posted 24 Aug 2005 1:46 pm    

I assume you're angling your foot. If not, you should be. Assuming the Emmons (ABC) configuration, you should bring the outside edge of your left foot against the outside edge of the A pedal, then just flatten your foot to rock onto the B pedal. That is probably a less common move that the reverse -- i.e., rocking from B onto A -- but needs to be practiced to get the muscle memory established. Knee levers might well get in the way while you're learning where the REST of your leg goes when your pressing the appropriate pedal(s).