The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  What Was The Best Compliment You Received
Robert Jackson

Pennsylvania, USA
Post  Posted 28 Jan 2018 6:26 am    

I’m new to Steel Guitar but for many, many years I was a regular ole Guitar player in a lot of bands. Some pretty successful, not stardom neutral paid the bills and “almost” made it.

I was speaking to Les Paul and played him a demo we had done of “Bye, Bye Blues.” We were breaking in our new 16 track (tape) studio. He listen and stated giving me tips on mic placement etc... then asked who’s playing the rhythm guitar? I stated, me .. he said, “now THAT is good! Rhythm guitar is a lost art. You remind me of Jimmy Atkins ... maybe you heard oh his brother Chet! LOL

K Maul

Hadley, NY/Hobe Sound, FL
Post  Posted 28 Jan 2018 7:59 am    

Wanda Jackson told me “you’re the most versatile steel player I’ve worked with. You can do the country stuff, but you also rock.” That meant the world to me!
And back in the 90s, Chet told me he really liked the sound of the pickup rig I had on my dobro. Twice. He didn’t mention my choice of notes....haha.
Kevin Maul: Airline, Beard, Clinesmith, Decophonic, Evans, Excel, Fender, Fluger, Gibson, Hilton, Ibanez, Justice, K+K, Live Strings, MOYO, National, Oahu, Peterson, Quilter, Rickenbacher, Sho~Bud, Supro, TC, Ultimate, VHT, Williams, X-otic, Yamaha, ZKing.

Doug Beaumier

Northampton, MA
Post  Posted 28 Jan 2018 8:29 am    

Lloyd Green told me he enjoyed my set at the PSGA show back in the early 90’s. He said “you’ve got your own distinctive style, and that’s nice to see”. That was a very high compliment!

Jack Hanson

San Luis Valley, USA
Post  Posted 28 Jan 2018 9:43 am