The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Set lists showing keys of songs
Tom Wolverton

Carpinteria, CA
Post  Posted 25 Jan 2018 6:37 pm    

I’ve been playing lap steel in a rock & blues band for a few months now. The band leader hands out set lists at gigs but the key of the tunes is never listed. I’m used to having that info in front of me. When I request the keys, he tells me that the pros never lists the keys on their set lists. So he won’t do it.

So am I being a wimp needing a crutch? We haven’t been playing together that long for me to memorize each tune’s key.

John Swain

Winchester, Va
Post  Posted 25 Jan 2018 7:06 pm    

I believe he's wrong. How could even Paul Franklin kick off a song without knowing the key. If perhaps he said the "pros" remembered the key from the last job, that would be different(always carry a pencil !) JS

Jim Cohen

Philadelphia, PA
Post  Posted 25 Jan 2018 7:16 pm    

As bandleader, I always include the key in parentheses next to the song title on set lists. It's easy enough to do and can be helpful in a pinch when one forgets the key (or hasn't memorized it yet). It is not in anyone's best interest to withhold information and tell players "it's your problem". If anybody mis-remembers the key and takes off in the wrong key, the whole band's sound, image and reputation suffers. For what? To stand on principle? Screw that.

But, if he won't do that and you can't get the set list in advance (cuz he creates them at the last minute), then all you can do is have a separate cheat sheet of all the songs in your band's repertoire (alphabetized!) and the keys of each, so you can cross check the set list against your list on the spot and grab the key from your list.

Oh, and definitely memorize they keys of ALL tunes for which YOU have to play the kickoff!

That's all I got.

Earnest Bovine

Los Angeles CA USA
Post  Posted 25 Jan 2018 7:59 pm     Re: Set lists showing keys of songs