The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Barn find Vibro Champ
Jim Hussey

Reno, Nevada - USA
Post  Posted 14 Jan 2018 11:52 am    

Hi Guys - Could use some advice / info?

Just discovered this BF Vibro Champ in John Campbell's (driving force behind the WEBB 6-14-E) basement.

Serial number indicates 1965. "OF" on tube chart indicates built in June of 65. No "Fender" label on the grill cloth and knob screws at "10" all imply pre CBS, but the face plate says Fender "Musical" Instruments.Is this a pre CBS build with a post CBS face plate?

Best way to bring it back to life - Plug it in using a current limited power supply or disassemble it for a visual inspection?

Thanks
Jim

Jon Light

Saugerties, NY
Post  Posted 14 Jan 2018 12:52 pm    

That is insane! Virtually NOS!

The conventional wisdom is that the electrolytic caps in it are way past their life expectancy, even if they have never passed electrons in their life. I'm not experienced and don't know if a slow, regulated start up is protection enough. I am pretty sure that a cautious tech would tell you to just get new caps regardless of how they look.
What a find.

Edward Rhea

Medford Oklahoma, USA
Post  Posted 14 Jan 2018 1:00 pm    

Jim , congrats on your find...that’s cool!
Before you plug it in a turn it on, check the fuse and make sure it is the correct one. If it’s blown, I’d recommend taking it to a reputable service tech and let them find out why it’s fried and what it’s gonna take to get it going. This may be solid advice before turning it on anyways...especially if you never seen it on before getting it! What a jewel!

Paul Sutherland

Placerville, California
Post  Posted 14 Jan 2018 1:09 pm    

If you're in NorCal, take it to Skip Simmons, in the foothills outside Marysville.

Barry Coker

Bagley Alabama, USA
Post  Posted 14 Jan 2018 4:54 pm     Barn Find Vibro Champ