The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Lube: am I grinding something away?
Glenn Demichele

(20mi N of) Chicago Illinois, USA
Post  Posted 28 Dec 2017 2:22 pm    

I have a 1995 D10 Franklin I bought new. I lubed it for years with 3 in 1. After a few naphtha rinses, I've been using only fri-flow for the past 3 years. I usually lube it upside down in the case with a paper towel under the changer. At first I think the liquid carrier in the tri-flow was rinsing out old oil gunk. Lately though I might be grinding up aluminum. Attached is a pic of the paper towel. Way more dirt coming out of e9. What do you guys think?

Mike Wheeler

Delaware, Ohio, USA
Post  Posted 28 Dec 2017 3:17 pm    

I seriously doubt you're doing any grinding. I've used TriFlow for many, many years and have never seen it cause what you are seeing. I've only seen gunk rinsed out like you describe.

Maybe there's still some old gunk washing out. From what I've gathered, Franklin steels have tight tolerances, so it might be hard for the TriFlow carrier fluid to loosen all the gunk...so you see a little at a time coming loose.

But, if I were you, I'd pull the changer, disassemble it and totally clean it. Then drown it all in TriFlow, let it dry, and reassemble. I've done that with several of my Universals with great results...and with TriFlow I don't need to add more as time goes by. It lasts a very long time.

If you don't feel confident enough to do the above on your own, have it done by someone you trust. It's not a job for the faint of heart.

Michael Yahl

Troy, Texas!
Post  Posted 28 Dec 2017 4:21 pm    

Whenever you lube any aluminum component and it is in contact with anything else you will get the black residue.

When you polish aluminum, the residue is black. It's just a chemical reaction with the alloys of aluminum whether it's cast or wrought material.