The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  C6 copedent suggestions?
Dave Stroud

Texas
Post  Posted 5 Dec 2017 7:23 pm    

I'm C6 illiterate, but I'm going to start learning it using Paul's method in a month.

I've got a 9x6 D10 to work with, and I'm about to start rodding the C6 neck.

Here's a few questions I have:

1.) Since I'm new at C6 and learning from the Franklin method, should I just change my copedent to his while I learn? It could always be changed later...

2.) If I should try Paul's copedent, is that 4th pedal more useful on the C6 neck or as the Franklin pedal on the E9th neck? I'm not sure if Paul's guitar really is this way.... but according to his posted copedent, he has 9 changes in that one pedal. Not sure if my Fessy can handle that kind of sorcery!!

3.) Or I could just go standard emmons C6 with franklin pedal at 4, or trade that 4th pedal for a John Hughey on p9 (lowering strings 4 & 8 a 1/2 step).

I know these copedent questions are a little silly since my tastes will develop and change with time. But I'm hoping to have the best starting point I can get.

Any thoughts?

b0b

Cloverdale, CA, USA
Post  Posted 5 Dec 2017 8:03 pm    

Buddy Emmons C6th with the 4 levers doing one change each is absolutely brilliant, IMHO. People (including myself) try to improve on it, but I don't believe that anyone has ever come up with anything better.

Lane Gray

Topeka, KS
Post  Posted 5 Dec 2017 10:37 pm    

With 9 and 6, you haven't made clear where knees 5 and 6 are.
Do you have 4 on each neck, or 5 E9th and three C6th? If you only have 3 C6th, I'd seriously think about adding one or two more.
Because I don't like double-footing, I have P5 on my LKR. Because one pedal became a knee, pedals 6-8 moved over 1, and P8 raises 3 and 7 to C# (if you want an occasional high G and still want the D, hitting P5 and raising the Cs gives you the top 9 strings of C6th, but in A (you go up 3 frets to get back to C).