The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  New Member....Just getting started
Michael Meader

Michigan, USA
Post  Posted 24 Nov 2017 2:34 pm    

Hi Folks, MIke here from Michigan. Been kinda wanting to get into steel guitar for a number of years but always just let it go. I am most definitely a complete noobie to this type of guitar. Been playing regular acoustic and electric for about 30 years, and consider myself a moderate hack on those instruments, but have fun.

My musical taste range from classic rock, blues, singer songerwriter kinda stuff, and for country, I really like 50's 60's 70's era ,loves me some Hee Haw!!!!

I made my first beginner mistake and bought what I've read to find, probably the least desirable model, the Sho-Bud Maverick...atleast thats kinda the jist I've been getting from alot of the reading I've done, after the purchase naturally...lol. But, all those levers and pedals and strings can certainly seem intimidating to me, not knowing anything....I paid 725$ shipped for the guitar...dont really know if thats good, fair , or average or over priced for the guitar. But it was in my price range.

Anywho, more of a positive note, I've only had the guitar a few day, and am starting to learn my way around what the pedals and lever do, found out how to tune it, by reading on this forum, and learned just a couple very basics by looking on youtube. Even ordered a couple of books that were suggested in some of the threads I've browsed thru here.

The guitar is black with some pinstriping. Haven't seen any pictures on the net of a black one, so, I'm not completely sure thats the original color...serial number is 1045. I believe its one of the early ones, with the raised fret board....so far I really kinda like it.

Anyway, just wanted to make an introduction, I'm sure I'll do alot of reading on this site. If anyone has any suggestions for learning material I'd welcome some suggestions.....thanks all, MIke

Very Happy

b0b