The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Do you play by ear ? Self taught ?
Brian Waits

Georgia, USA
Post  Posted 5 Feb 2017 6:29 am    

Just wondering how many learned PSG without lessons other than maybe youtube videos and such and play by ear.
Satisfied with your progress ?
Session 400 with JBL D130

Mike Neer

NJ
Post  Posted 5 Feb 2017 7:08 am    

I learned how to play guitar, as most guitarists do, by ear. Didn't take any lessons until I was in my 20s and wanted to play jazz. However, I studied music theory on my own and in high school and it helped me understand the way things worked, like harmony. Once I had some knowledge and strong ears, I could listen to music and tell you the changes, even without an instrument in my hand.

Ian Rae

Redditch, England
Post  Posted 5 Feb 2017 7:47 am    

If you want to play with other musicians, the more you know about music the easier it is to communicate with them.

Brian Waits

Georgia, USA
Post  Posted 5 Feb 2017 8:10 am     Agree

While I agree 100%, the reason I am interested is I am a retired radio air personality and have been associated with many that have displayed awesome talent with no formal training and without the ability to read music. What I don't understand is I know someone that plays an instrument that can only play if they have the sheet music. Can't play by ear at all. How is it someone can play wonderful with music but not without.
personally, everything I do is by ear. Just seems if you could play by sheet music you could play by ear as well.

Richard Sinkler

aka: Rusty Strings -- Missoula, Montana
Post  Posted 5 Feb 2017 8:46 am    

When I started in 1971, all I had was records, any TV shows that had a steel player, and live players if you were old enough to get into the clubs (I wasn't).