The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  No finger picks
David Deratany

Cape Cod Massachusetts
Post  Posted 2 Dec 2003 5:17 pm    

Having played finger style guitar for twenty + years on a home made six string w/built-in compressor, I had no trouble getting the proper balance between thumbpick and bare fingers with respect to volume, clarity and bite.

Along came a B-Bender which I started playing, and at first that balance was horrible, as I was not using any compression. A year of picking harder with my fingers later, the balance is fine.

So I tried it on steel; I'd done this a few times over the years with unacceptable results, but this time it worked! My first gig without them went perfectly well; no one noticed anything missing. I was able to get by wthout them - evidence of a merciful God, if you ask me. I have been set free. Those picks had always been my enemy, making me feel like Edward Scissorhands trying to play steel.

Any others out there doing it without fingerpicks?

Will Yardley

Los Angeles, CA, US
Post  Posted 2 Dec 2003 5:25 pm    

Quote:
Any others out there doing it without fingerpicks?

/delurk - been reading the forum for a while, but this is my first "real" post.

You might want to check the archives - there are some old posts about Kim Deschamps (steel player on a couple early Cowboy Junkies albums, including "The Trinity Session") - he apparently never uses fingerpicks.
http://www.steelguitar.com/webpix/playpix/kimdeschamps.html

He gets a gorgeous tone on "The Trinity Session" (that album was recorded in a large church with one microphone, which I'm sure didn't hurt the sound either....).

Travis Bernhardt

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Post  Posted 2 Dec 2003 10:04 pm