The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  My terrible right hand technique
James Wolf

Georgia
Post  Posted 15 Dec 2014 7:45 am    

I have been playing steel for a little over 6 years. I'm just going to be shameless and honest. This is what my right hand looks like. My left is probably bad too but ill get to that later. I have tried and tried to make my right hand look nice and round with my pinky out but I always fall back to this "knuckles position." While this worked for a while I feel like it is seriously limiting my flexibility playing scales. I would like to fix it. I think it may have something to do with my arm and wrist but I don't know. I would like to mention that I have fixed far worse long term habits on other instruments. What can I do to fix my right hand?

Thanks,

James

Ian Rae

Redditch, England
Post  Posted 15 Dec 2014 8:04 am    

Coincidence! I've just been watching Jeff Newman's Right Hand Alpha video which arrived this morning. I'm only part way through but it already looks like just what you need.

Ross Shafer

Petaluma, California
Post  Posted 15 Dec 2014 8:09 am    

I too had the flat hand, anchored palm, "knuckles" thing going on and had a hard time breaking the habit...full disclosure here....just about everything else I do on steel pretty much sucks, but I did finally get my right hand to behave properly which helped palm blocking and note position flexibility (what you're referring to about playing scales).

Other than paying close and consistent attention, I found rolling up a magazine and holding it under my right arm while I practiced to be a huge help. Keeping my elbow in close to the body did a lot to keep my right hand in a better position and has pretty much cured my flat hand "knuckles" tendency.

Good luck from a terminal beginner and Happy Hot Dang Holidays to all y'all!

Mark Hershey

New York, USA
Post  Posted 15 Dec 2014 8:30 am