The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  U12 - U10 - D10 - What to do
DroopyPawn

Fox, OK, USA
Post  Posted 11 Jan 2003 10:19 am    

I have a Sierra U12 on a double body. I'm still learning but I find that I NEVER use the 2 extra strings. I like the newer country but I may play some older stuff too (Bob Wills and such.) It seems like the extra 2 strings really serve no purpose for me and might even be in the way. (It's harder to find the 8th string on a 12 string neck. Anyone think I should go back to a 10 string extended tuning of some kind? The only thing is, what if I want to play C6th stuff later? So many decisions to make.

------------------

Sonny Jenkins

Texas Masonic Retirement Center,,,Arlington Tx
Post  Posted 11 Jan 2003 10:39 am    

Gary you'll get used to where the 8th string and all others in a very short time. The U-12 offers the best of both worlds. Hang in there.

Pete Burak

Portland, OR USA
Post  Posted 11 Jan 2003 10:48 am    

I'm not sure what you mean by "2 extra strings".

Basically (or, One way to look at it....), you have got a 10 string E9th neck, and a 10 string B6th neck, superimposed onto one neck, resulting in a total of 12 strings.
There are no "extra" strings.

If you don't want to use strings 11 and 12 (until you "want to learn B6th later") just take 'em off (you can still play a ton of B6th swing on the remaining ten).

So the U10 concept is certainly valid.

Are you talking about strings 11 and 12?
Because on E9th, I have string 12 lowering from B to A on the "A" pedal, so with pedals down you have a huge bottom end (to try it, hit pedals A+B and lower string 12 a full tone to A).

Some guys have string 12 raise B to C#.

I also have string 11(E) hooked up to raise and lower a half tone along with the other E's on my E-raise and E-lower knee levers.