The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Knee Lever Terminology
Mike Harmon

Overland, Missouri, USA
Post  Posted 13 Jan 2003 8:48 am    

Why do some players/teachers (like Jeff Newman) use "D" to refer to the lever which lowers E to Eb, and others use the "E" designation? It's a little bit confusing to try to read tab to learn a new song when you are accustomed to thinking the other way around.

I'm just a beginner, but it seems like it makes SO much more sense to use names for the levers which actually relate to the notes which they produce. I've found that most people agree that the "F" lever raises E to F, and the "G" level raises Gb to G, but there seem to be two diverging schools of thought regarding what to call the levers which lower the E to Eb and the Eb to D/Db.

I think I read somewhere that the levers were named the way they were because of the order that they evolved, but Scotty/Mel Bay refers to the E to Eb lower as "E", NOT "D".

Anyone have any comments on this issue?

------------------
Mike Harmon
Fulawka S10 3 & 5
Nashville 400

C Dixon

Duluth, GA USA
Post  Posted 13 Jan 2003 9:10 am    

Mike,

That is a very good question. It has been asked before on this forum. And I suspect it will be asked again. And you are 100% correct about the D and the E levers. There is confusion especially for new players. The following IS the scoop as to why that happened.

When the PSG first became prominent, there were no knee levers at all. When the day came that a knee lever became prominent (there were home made knee levers before), that knee lever lowered the 2nd string from a D# to a D and lowered the 8th string from an E to a Eb. NOTE: The 2nd string was NOT lowered to a C# back then. BE did that later; on a hit song of Ray Price called "Those Healing Hands of Time", which drove 30,000 steel players crazy trying to figure out how in this world Buddy did it .